Ethernet has a self-assigned IP address and will not be able to connect…

No solution at the present. I’ve only had a mac ethernet port go bad once and since it was a desktop it was an easy fix.  Simple PCI card.  I would get a usb card for a mac laptop instead of replacing the logic board personally.

I once had a Firewire port seem to go bad and not connect the camera.  I followed these instructions from Apple and it worked great afterwords. Seems crazy but its worth a try for this problem.

This could be a possible solution:

Steve Justis wrote:
Same issue here, after 10.6.4 and Safari 5 my ethernet port has stopped working, it cannot detect a cable being plugged in. I have tried the following:

1. Uninstall VMWare
2. Unchecking the “passive FTP” in the network area of system prefs
3. Resetting the PMU
4. Doing a manual IP address

I am going to call Apple or go to the genius bar next. I have tried the same cable on a macbook and it works fine.

It could also be a mistake on the part of the ISP like in this thread.  This is rare occurrence however and I would suspect a hardware/software problem on the local lan.

Posted on March 1, 2010, in Apple Hardware and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Ethernet has a self-assigned IP address and will not be able to connect….

Comments are closed.

